Angry, but somehow not surprised

November 10, 2007

This is how my life works. I go for ages with very little to do, and then everything I want to do is scheduled on the same three days.

Earlier this summer, Mom asked if I wanted to go on a cruise. Preferrably in late February, to escape the cold. We settled on a ten-day Carribean cruise that left at the end of February and got back the beginning of March. A knitting cruise, to boot. When I got the job offer from the place I’m temping, I was unconcerned. I wouldn’t have earned enough leave in time for the cruise, but I was fairly certain that my boss would let me work something out. She was in the office today, so I gathered up the info to ask her about that leave.

And that’s when I realized that the company’s biggest DC event of the year, a multi-day conference, is during the cruise. That would be bad anyway, but did I mention that a big part of my new job is event planning?

No knitting cruise for me. I feel some consolation shopping coming on.

3 Responses to “Angry, but somehow not surprised”

  1. Krystal Says:

    Oooh, that stinks. Sorry about that. Maybe you can go a different time?

  2. Kate Says:

    oh crap, that sucks

  3. Eva Says:

    Oh my goodness, NO! I’m so sorry.

Leave a comment