We interrupt your regularly scheduled knitting

November 16, 2007

I got home really early today – the reason why is a longer story for another day – and my condo was cold. Now, I live alone, so I can turn the thermostat to whatever setting I want, but I feel somehow irresponsible setting it too high. Anyway, I have big windows, and I don’t know how well insulated this place is, so I can only get it so warm. I was sitting here feeling sorry for myself. I’m cold at home, I’m cold at work. I’ll be cold when I visit my mom & dad for T’giving and Christmas, respectively. I’ll be a human popsicle if we stay with my aunt & uncle while I’m out visiting my dad.

And then I was hit with inspiration. I am dropping all of my current WIPs to make myself a winter survival kit. Fingerless mittens (so I can still use my hands), felted slippers (fuzzy feet!), and a big bulky cardigan (bulky so it’ll knit up quick). This kit will be red, because, well, I’m me, and (as Kate puts it) a magpie for things that are red. I’ve ordered the yarn for the slippers and the cardi, and I cast on for the mitts today. No other knitting will be done until I have my survival kit, not even socks in pursuit of my sock-a-month goal. I’m caught up on that (ooh, yet another thing I need to post about) and November’s sock is going really quickly. In fact, it’s finished. So, winter survival kit, here I come.

Cross your fingers that the yarn I ordered ships quickly.

2 Responses to “We interrupt your regularly scheduled knitting”

  1. Eva Says:

    Can’t wait to see the Kit!

  2. Kate Says:

    THAT is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

