Motivation

October 16, 2007

Two posts in two days! Do you feel honored?

Remember the table I bought weekend before last? How it inspired me to get back to work on that room? Well, this past weekend, I took this Craigslist find:
dscn0697.jpg
and turned it into this
dscn0698.jpg
I basically sewed a cover for the headboard and footboard, and then made a “skirt” to connect them. I did most of the sewing by machine, but tacked the skirt to the head- and footboard by hand once everything was on the bed. The hardest part was figuring out that pleat in the skirt. I had initially planned on the headboard being more padded, but it’s possible I calculated the pattern wrong. Unlikely, but possible. I’m pretty pleased with the result, and actually a little disappointed that the bedding I chose covers most of the skirt.

After some wrestling with duvets and duvet covers Sunday, I made the bed, which looks like this:
dscn0699.jpg

Next weekend, I take on wall art. I have plans.

I leave you with one final picture, for no other reason than that I like the contrast between the fabrics.
contrast.jpg

3 Responses to “Motivation”

  1. Krissy Says:

    I just wanted to say, yay, for more than one posting in one week, and CONGRATULATIONS on that bed. It really looks fabulous, and that corner of the room looks exceptionally tidy. Good work all around, I say. Seriously, it looks great, and must have taken you forever.

  2. Kate Says:

    Wow, that looks terrific. You did a great job!

  3. Yur Weenie Says:

    Great Job on the bed!! Lots of industrious decorating!

    I’ve been industriuos too…well, somewhat…have been collecting things for you all week! Will put it together tonight get get it out tomorrow…just so you don’t think you’ve been forgotten! PS: It shouldn’t take that long, you’re not really all that far from me… 😉

Leave a Reply

