Dids and Didn’ts

September 24, 2007

This weekend, I:
*DID go to two wineries on Saturday
*DID go to an apple orchard Sunday
*DID pick far more apples than I know what to do with
*DIDN’T go to Ikea (again)
*DIDN’T fix the curtains in the living room
*DIDN’T do laundry

On Saturday, Krissy planned a wonderful trip out to VA wine country in celebration of Meghan’s graduation from that other Virginia school. We started at Breaux and then went on to Doukenie, where it just so happened they were having a ‘Taste of Italy’ fest. Went home tired and happy (and with more wine. Because that’s what I really need.)

Sunday, I had grand plans to get up early and make an Ikea run – a few returns, a few small purchases (picture frames for the dining room!). I did get up early – Jasper wouldn’t have it any other way – but I decided that the drive/traffic to and from Ikea was more than I wanted to do. Especially since Resha had arranged for us to go apple picking Sunday afternoon. Apple picking is harder than I thought! Not only did I end up with lots of apples (anyone want apple pie? Please? Someone?), but I got apple butter and watermelon rind pickles, and local honey, and butter pecans and fresh-baked bread. Yum.

Came home tired and happy again. Trying an expiremental apple pie tonight…the recipe is a little low on the details, so we’ll see what I end up with.

One Response to “Dids and Didn’ts”

  1. Kate Says:

    try a pinch of cayenne in the apples, it makes the cinnamon really pop. 🙂

Leave a Reply

