Green with irony

September 16, 2007

Last night at dinner, my old roommate complained that ever since she signed up for online statements, the bank has been sending her paper notices in the mail that her online statement is ready. That reminded me of a big fat paper booklet insert in the new Real Simple. It’s from a car company, extolling all the ways they’re going green, and giving some “green” tips. They couldn’t have put that all on one page?

Every now and then, I remember to bring my own shopping bags to the grocery store. Mostly, I forget until I get there, but once in a blue moon, I present the cashier with my own resusable bags. Usually, the cashier will then proceed to individually wrap almost every item I purchase, using just as many, if not more, plastic bags than if I had just asked for plastic.

Leave a Reply

