Just kidding

September 2, 2007

A friend of mine recently vowed to post in her blog once a day, no matter how short the post. I thought ‘hey, that’s a great idea’ and decided to copy her, at least for the month of September. I often have stuff to say, or stories to tell, but then I think of all the stuff I haven’t yet blogged, and get unmotivated. So I figured that making myself post once a day, no matter how mundane, might get me over that. And then yesterday came and went without me posting a thing. Sigh. So, I’ve decided to modify her goal. Set the bar really low. For the next four weeks, I will post at least once a week.

I’ve been on a roll finishing things lately. Two pairs of socks!
Hedera
dscn0674.jpg
At the beginning of the year, I decided to try and knit a sock a month – 6 pairs for the year. Then halfway through Hedera, I decided that I didn’t really like the yarn, the needles were too flimsy, and, especially around the heel, it didn’t make a good commuting sock. So I kinda stalled on the sock knitting. I now have a long-term temp assignment, and with the job comes some semblance of routine. I knit on the way to and from work (I can even knit standing on the metro, as long as I can lean against the wall or one of those doorway barriers.) So, these two pairs of socks catch me up through June. The second pair is from a pattern called Bellatrix, in Lorna’s Laces in black purl. I’m working on flame-wave socks now, and its a pretty quick knit, so hopefully I’ll be done with those and back on track by mid-September.

I also finished Tomato. Here’s a picture of it unblocked – I’m hoping blocking will bring some improvement.
dscn0667.jpg
Isabella is almost done – I messed up a seam and lost my desire to work on it for a while. Now that it’s almost too cool to wear it, maybe I’ll go ahead and finish it. Odessa is done too, but I don’t have any blog-worthy pics. I’m doing some charity knitting – scarves and hats – before I move on to the next project. Mystery stole languishes in the corner.

2 Responses to “Just kidding”

  1. krissy Says:

    Wow, Ashley, that sweater color is just beautiful! It really brings out your eyes. In the picture they look like the same eaquisite mountain blue color.

  2. Mom Says:

    Hey beautiful daughter! The only thing amiss with the sweater is that it is slightly too large for you. It would fit me perfectly!!! Hee!

Leave a comment