Two precious

June 30, 2007

This post is about two subjects, both new and both precious.

First, I would like to introduce my friend’s new daughter, Miss Sonya Rose.Sonya Rose
You may have seen me refer to her as Reshababy. Miss Sonya has a green hoodie knitted by me, but, like many of her clothes, it is currently too big. That will change soon, and then there will be more pictures.

Second, I would like to debut my new shawl. Meet my Icarus. My Icarus
My Icarus took more yarn than I expected, so it has a border, but that’s OK. I like it that way. It was amazing what a difference blocking made. I knew logically that binding off would open up the lace, but I guess I didn’t fully process what that would mean. It made it so much more airy. My main thoughts when I bound off the last stitch were ‘Finally. It’s done. I can move on to something better.’ Once I unpinned in from the bad, though, I fell in love. I am also unreasonably delighted that I can fold Icarus into a little square, and that square fits perfectly into a gallon-sized Ziploc. It’s just so tidy!

Sonya is not sure what she thinks about Icarus.
Sonya meets Icarus

Leave a Reply

