Catching Up

April 30, 2007

One of the problems I have with blogging is that I’m not very good about regular posts. Then something will happen that I want to blog about, but I think ‘Oh, but I haven’t blogged about x,y, and z that have already happened yet.’ But the thought of all that blogging is daunting, or I think the new thing will get lost in the listing of the old, yet-to-be-blogged things, so I end up not blogging at all.

And sometimes I just don’t know what to say. Like in the past few weeks, with the Virginia Tech tragedy. I went to Va Tech, more years ago than it seems. I didn’t know anyone who was killed or (as far as I know) injured. But it still feels like an almost personal loss, and I just don’t know what to say about it (and it makes things like “My dining room is now very green.” seem a little trivial). So, I haven’t blogged, and now I have all kinds of things to catch up the blog on.

My dining room IS now very green, in a good way. I look at it and think ‘Wow, I can’t believe I actually did that.’ I painted the two bedrooms and the living room, but those colors are essentially variations on white. But this, this is real color. It matches my couch nicely (but I’m not going to show you that quite yet.)

Pay no attention to the clutter in that picture. Moving day was Wednesday, and most of the condo is still a war zone. My birthday is this week and my (now former) roommate has asked me several times what I want to do. I think the answer is nothing, at least for the moment. What I want to do is have a big party where I invite bunches of friends, from undergrad, grad school, work colleagues, knitters, etc., most of whom have never met one another. But restaurants are so noisy, it would be hard to talk to someone new, and conversations would be limited to the people sitting next to you. I want to have a housewarming at some point, too. So, I think I’d like to just postpone the birthday thing for now. There will be a big party later, and it can be a housewarming/birthday/summer/’Hey, it’s June! (or July or August)/whatever party.

As an aside, does anyone know what I can’t post thumbnails of pictures on WordPress anymore? That’s all for now.

One Response to “Catching Up”

  1. eva Says:

    I don’t know why, but I find it WAY easier to use my flickr account and use their handy dandy “copy this code” option, and you can choose from various sizes of your picture, including a thumbnail size. WAY easier.

Leave a Reply

